top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKirk Espinoza

Project 1 Reflection

Updated: Jul 9, 2019


The three artifacts I wrote about meant a lot to me, each in their own unique way. All three signify a step forward in my composing ability and how my mentality has changed when I compose. For example, for my personal artifact, I used a video I created with my brother when I was about ten years old and there was some thought put into it but it was mostly for entertainment; however, for my academic artifact, I used a video I made with a few classmates for a group project that we had to do for my algebra 2 class in my junior year of high school. For that video I had to write the script, direct, and edit it, as well as post it on YouTube by myself. The severity of my artifacts increased as I got older. For example, the stakes were high for my resumé and it was important that I took it as serious as I could. Looking at these three artifacts recently has made me realize that as a composer, I am a perfectionist. I remember working on all three artifacts as thoroughly as I could for hours upon hours, until I believed it was finally good enough to be viewed by others. I spent hours on my resumé trying to add as much work experience as I possibly could to it to make it presentable to an employer or a school. In addition, even though I only had about an hour to record and edit my academic artifact, I spent many hours trying to write a script, days prior to recording. Even in my personal artifact, the only thing I could think of was “Is this good enough to post on YouTube?” I was trying to make sure I would not stutter or say any type of profanity because I would feel as if I was being inappropriate. I believe my composing skills have developed tremendously, especially in how I edit videos; however, I am not satisfied with the level that I am at now because I know what my true potential can really be. I feel as if my composing expertise can improve drastically, but I am too lazy. For example, I could have started composing my resumé with maximum effort, instead of taking hours to revise it later on. I rarely start anything without procrastinating so I end up being pressured by time. Eventually, I end up not putting enough effort in my work and, as a result, a mediocre job is the outcome. To top it all off, I do not compose unless I’m obliged to, like for school or a job. Personally, I do not write, take pictures, record, etc., unless I really have to and because of this, I feel like my skills are not up to par. To conclude, I feel like these three artifacts say that I need to improve, I need to work on myself as a composer and mature into a better one. In the future, I will work on my weaknesses, so that I may be happy with my own work. One goal I want to pursue is putting more effort into things I compose as soon as possible, instead of procrastinating to the last second. On top of that, I will try to write or record more for personal purposes in order to practice and improve myself as a writer. At the end of the day, I want to be the best I can be at anything and these three artifacts represent the work I put into my compositions. Ultimately, I want my composing skills to significantly increase, not only in video making, but also in writing.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page