top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKirk Espinoza

Journal 1

Updated: Jul 30, 2019

For as long as I can remember, writing has always been one of my biggest weaknesses. In third grade, when I took the FCAT writing test, a standardized test administered in the state of Florida, it was evident that writing was not my forte. I remember bursting into tears after hearing that I had received a 3 (out of six) on the test. Fortunately, my writing improved a lot throughout my years of high school, but it was never enough to keep me satisfied. It didn’t improve as much as I wanted it to, due to the fact that I only wrote in class and to send out text or emails. Writing, at my worst, has made me feel like a complete and utter failure. However, at my best, it gives me a feeling of achievement. The best essays I can remember writing are the ones I wrote for scholarships or for university applications. Those essays made me critically think about what I was going to write. I wrote about how I realized that I had to be the responsible one out of my 2 other siblings since my mom was never home. I poured my heart into an essay for the first time and I believe that was the reason why I was accepted into the Florida State University C.A.R.E. Summer Bridge Program. It’s a love-hate relationship between me and writing.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page