top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKirk Espinoza

Reflection on Interview

Updated: Jul 17, 2019


This interview only confirmed my understanding of the composing a college student has go through because I have an aunt at Florida International University and she tells me all the time how hard and hectic college can be; however, I did not know that being a CARE ambassador takes a lot of time and planning as well. This interview reminded me that being a CARE ambassador is a full-time job and can get just as hectic as college in the aspect of work load and scheduling. I want to learn more about the college experience and what my interviewee’s darkest moments at Florida State University were. I want to learn and experience what made him feel depressed, want to cry, want to drop out, I want to know everything that made him feel like it was just too much. I have always heard that college is hard, but I really want to know what made him feel that way. I feel as if it is the time management that makes everyone say college is hard; there’s not enough hours in a day to do everything. I would like to improve on my procrastination problems when it comes to my composing because I tend to leave things for the last minute and it makes my work look like I did not put any effort into it. For example, in high school, I used to wait until the night before a project was due to start. The idea of people thinking I am lazy because I procrastinate does not sit well in my conscience so I would like to improve on it. Improving this would not only help me in the classroom, but outside as well because I always procrastinate to send emails, or to text people back, or even going to class because I am so lazy. If I did not postpone my actions because of my laziness, I believe that I would be a more efficient person all around and be one step closer towards my aspirations and goals. However, now that I am at Florida State University, I have been trying my hardest to not procrastinate in any aspect of my life. For instance, I have been starting my homework a week before the due date in order to have enough time to revise and polish my work. In the last 12 years that I have been inside a classroom, I have learned a lot about composing. I have learned how to write with good grammar, I have learned how to edit videos, and many more things. I can use this knowledge I have managed to acquire over the span of 12 years outside of Florida State University in many ways. For instance, I can use my writing practice when applying to a job because many require a resumé and/or an essay. I can also use my video recording skills in case I ever want to make a YouTube video or a video for an event. In the past, I have made videos for events such as my wrestling team banquet. As a composer, I am not happy. I do not like how I write, record videos, etc. I feel like I can get better at everything I create if I worked harder. Work harder as in practice my composing on my own and not only do it for school. For example, I can start writing creatively or I can start recording videos for myself and this will help me by making me more creative and more experienced. My next steps are to become more creative by composing on my own; therefore, I will start writing more since I feel like that is my weakest skill.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page